prettylink
Chickens Secondary Header
728x90 header

DUI Arizona Laws ? Penalties guide

Arizona, like every other state, has DUI (driving under the influence) laws meant to reduce driving after a few glasses of alcohol. Arizona is known throughout the country to have very strict laws regarding DUIs, which is all the more reason to hire an aggressive DUI attorney to fight for you.

Being arrested for an offense DUI can be a very upsetting experience. It may be your first time ever being accused of a crime and you may not know what your rights are or where you should turn.

It is therefore important to know the basics of the Arizona DUI laws and penalties to ensure that you stay on the right side of the law. It is unlawful for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle in this state under any of the following circumstances:

1. While under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug and vapour releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination of liquor, drugs or vapour releasing substances if the person is impaired to the slightest degree.

2. If the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed either before or while driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle.
3. While there is any drug or its metabolite in the person’s body.
4. If the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle that requires a person to obtain a commercial driver license and the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more.

Sentencing

You’ve just been arrested for a DUI in Arizona, now you’ll be sentenced according to a classification of your crime. Aggravating factors may include the following:

You have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 for up to two hours after the offense.

You have 2 or more prior DUI convictions in Arizona or in another state within 7 years of the arrest. Your privileges to drive are revoked, suspended or restricted at the time you are charged with DUI in Arizona. You have a child under 15 years old in the vehicle.

First Impaired or Breath Alcohol Concentration above .080

10 consecutive days in jail. The Court may suspend 9 of the 10 days if you agree to get an alcohol evaluation, and submit to treatment. Fine & costs: 0.00 fine, plus a surcharge, plus an additional 0.00 assessment for DPS, and another 0.00 for the Arizona Prison Construction Fund. Driver license: The MVD will suspend your drivers’ license for 90 days. Counselling: If recommended in your evaluation and you want the Judge to suspend all but one day in jail. Probation: You may be placed on probation for up to five years.

Second Impaired or Breath Alcohol Concentration above .080

1.  90 days in jail. The Court may suspend 60 of the 90 days if you agree to get an alcohol evaluation, and submit to treatment.

2. Fine & costs: 0.00 fine, plus a surcharge, plus an additional 0.00 assessment to the Arizona DUI abatement fund, plus an additional 50.00 assessment for arrests.

3. Driver License: Your drivers’ license will be revoked for one year.

4. Counselling: If recommended in your evaluation and you want

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+Digg this

Pages: 1 2 3

Comments are closed.

Chickens Secondary Header
prettylink
728x90 header
Search the Site
Chicken Pens and Runs
music-legal
film contracts
Script to Sales
Application Selection
Manfreedkitchen